Stockport County shake up squad ahead of next season

Jimmy Ball scores Stockport County's third (M Photographic)
Jimmy Ball opened the scoring at Cheadle Heath Nomads (M Photographic)

Ten of Stockport County’s players have committed to next season while another six have left Edgeley Park.

The club confirmed the details on its official website today as Hatters boss Jim Gannon looks to build on this season’s eighth-place finish in Conference North.

The list of players leaving includes Mark Ross – who made 43 appearances for County last season – Courtney Meppen-Walters, and Kayode Odejayi.

Among the players yet to decide on their futures is top-scorer Danny Lloyd.

Gannon told County’s official website: “The process of reshaping and re-energizing the first team squad for next season is a difficult process and the most mentally demanding time for a manager.

“A lot of decisions have to be made, and those decisions are important and have to be good to create the foundations for the future growth of the team and the further rebuilding of the club’s football structures.

“Much work will be done in the coming weeks, but the process of building the squad for next season started many months ago.

“We expect to have further discussions with other contracted players at the club including Danny Lloyd, Chris Smalley, Max Cartwright, Harry Brazel, Adam Thomas, Josh Amis and George West about their futures at the club.

“We expect those conversations to be constructive and positive. Following the outcome of these talks the club will make a more formal statement regarding the retained and released players.”

County had been in with a shout of a play-off place until the last-day draw with Gloucester City.

Stockport County: Ins, outs and maybes..

The players already signed for next season are:
Ben Hincliffe
Ian Ormson
Michael Clarke
Scott Duxbury
Sam Minihan
Connor Hampson
Lewis Montrose
Harry Winter
Jimmy Ball
Adam Etches

The club is in discussions with:
Josh Amis
Harry Brazel
Max Cartwright
Danny Lloyd
Chris Smalley
Adam Thomas
George West

The following players have been released:
Ryan Ellison
Sefton Gonzales
John Marsden
Courtney Meppen-Walters
Kayode Odejayi
Mark Ross

Information from the official Stockport County website