MG Car Club gathers at Oulton Park

MG Trophy, Oulton Park

Fine sunny weather greeted the MG Car Club (MGCC) for their annual visit to Oulton Park.

Four-wheel action included the WES BCV8 Championship, Peter Best Insurance MG Cup, Drayton Manor Park MG Metro Cup, Equipe GTS, Cockshoot Cup, Petro-Canada Lubricants Porsche Club Champonship, MG Trophy and John Woods Motorcare MG Trophy Championship.

Thirty six MG ZR’s lined up for the first of two twenty minute races with Graham Ross in his ZR190 on pole and Ross Makar in a similar car alongside.

Ross led into the first corner but two corners further on, at Lakeside a large coming together brought out the red flags and the race was abandoned to allow circuit repairs to take place.

The MG Trophy sets off at Oulton Park
The MG Trophy sets off at Oulton Park (
MG Trophy in action at Oulton Park
MG Trophy in action at Oulton Park (

The grid lined up for race two with Makar on pole, Ross alongside.

This time Makar took the lead off the line from Ross, Colin Robertson and Jason Burgess. Burgess pulled off on the first lap giving fourth to Doug Cole.

Robertson took second crossing the line at the end of lap two. Cole was up to third by the end of lap three but lost the place to Ross a lap later.

With the top four separated by less than a second it was anybody’s race with second, third and fourth changing regularly.

Makar took all the pressure from behind and held on to take the win from Ross, Robertson and Cole.

Cole was given a ten-second penalty for a jump start but it did not affect his fourth place as fifth came in fourteen seconds behind him.

The ZR170 class was won by Fergus Campbell, the ZR160 class going to Andy Spencer.

MG Cockshoot Cup in action at Oulton Park
MG Cockshoot Cup action at Oulton Park (

In other events Philip Standish won the Cockshoot Cup race in his MG TF LE500. Jack Ashton won the MG Metro Cup race.

In the two MG Cup races there was a win apiece for Matthew Simpson in his Rover 220 Tomcat Turbo and Iain Dowler in his MG ZR160.

The Equipe GTS race was won by Tom Smith in his MGB Roadster. The two BCV8 races were won by James Wheeler and Ian Prior, both in MGB GT V8’s.

Mark Mcaleer and Mark Sumpter took a win apiece in the Porsche Club Chamionship Races in their 996 C2’s.

Time constraints meant that the abandoned MG Trophy race could not be rerun.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.